The Poor Law Commission of 1905 of Social Work | Explain

The Poor Law Commission of 1905

In the beginning of 20th century, the extent of unemployment and resultant poverty in large number of poor including The family Coalminers begin to demand poor relief which the existing relief programmes were unable to meet. For the solution of such a huge problem a Commission, namely “Royal Commission” on poor law and relief of distress, was set up which made four main recommendations

  1. In place of poor Union and control board of guardians, country Council be established which reduces the existing Administrative structure by 3/4th.
  2. The punishment element should be replaced human public assistance program.
  3. Mixed beggar home be abolished; mentally ill be provided treatment in hospital setting
  4. National pension for The aged, free medical treatment of sick poor in hospitals, facilities for employment, and starting an insurance program for the unemployed and related facilities.

These recommendations resulted in the farming relative measure for the poor, such as, “Unemployed Workmen act, 1905”, “The Old Age Pension Act 1908”, “Labour Exchange Act 1909”, “The National Insurance act 1911”, “The widows, Orphans and Old Age Contributory Pension Act ,1925”, “The National Economy Act 1931”, “Unemployment Act 1934” And “Old Age Pension Act 1940.

Leave a Reply